top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturec17438986

Persona, identity & presence online

I unfortunately had to miss this weeks class due to other commitments, but after reading up on the module website on what I had missed, I caught myself up on the discussions I missed during class.

I find the subject of this weeks class very interesting, as the idea of social media affecting your professional career is a relatively new problem that previous generations never had to worry about. There's a real sense of permanence of what you post online nowadays. Depending on your career path, things that you may have posted online when you were maybe only a teenager (things that you'd never dream of posting now) can still come back around and bite you no matter how long ago it had happened. There's a pressure now that perhaps personal pages should be kept as private as possible and any content that may be deemed inappropriate by potential employees should either be deleted or stay un-posted.

Although I wouldn't see any of my own social media accounts as being totally inappropriate, I still wouldn't use them for any kind of professional purposes. Perhaps a good idea would be to change social media usernames so that you can't easily be found by someone simply googling your name and switching any personal accounts to private in case they still manage to be sniffed out.

I think accounts that could be found by employers should be put together to look as professional as possible, without any kind of personal details or opinions heavily broadcasted. However, I don't think people should feel that they have to totally erase any kind of personality from a professional networking account, as there's something to be said for having a bit of personality also.


Networking Graphic (source: www.easi.net)

Until next time!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page